Washington
Comments 2

#CRAYOLO

Look y’all, I am not a runner. I may have spent an exorbitant amount of money on running shoes with every intention of a daily jog around the Capitol building, but that just isn’t happening. And probably will never happen (for the record, the number of times I have used those shoes to actually run I could probably count on both hands).

But, in the spirit of being a trendy millennial, I registered for the Color Run 5K with my best friends from high school. That is why couch to 5K exists, right? Sure. So I trekked down to Lincoln Park and up Pennsylvania Avenue a few days one week to “train”. It was cold outside, so I decided that would suffice. As the race grew closer and closer, and family members began to question if I had done anything to prepare, I sheepishly replied that I had been spinning a lot…so that is cardio?

Wrong wrong wrong. Do not ever come to me when it comes to exercise ideas (unless you want to be injured). Cardio is not cardio is not cardio. So I resolved to not worry about the race and just run as I could and pause when necessary (my dad, who ran a 100-mile graveyard run earlier this year, is probably crying at his desk right now).

Even though we couldn’t run 3 miles without stopping for air, we did do a pretty good job getting colorful (mostly from the color powder mosh pit after).

So maybe I haven’t set a record for a 5K…but at least the pictures are cool (plus, the National Harbor is a pretty awesome place to run).

CR2

This was shortly after I took an AWESOME Instagram video of everyone dancing to Cupid Shuffle that Instagram promptly deleted. THANKS INSTAGRAM.

CR7

CR3CR8

Yikes…I was green for a few days. And it took a while for the happiness to wear off (and I think there is still green in my hair).

CR9

2 Comments

Leave a comment