Paris, Wanderlusting
Comments 3

A Soup by Any Other Name…

Sometimes, I feel really lazy, and the only thing to get me motivated is cooking.  I’m discovering all sorts of new things to cook here, and I got lucky and have a huge, well-equipped kitchen(even though the knobs on the stove and oven are missing).

A few weeks ago, I complained to my mom how baguettes were some of the most economical things to eat in Paris(at .90 centimes per baguette), but they always seemed to go stale before I was able to finish them.  She told me I could easily make French onion soup with the stale baguettes, so today that’s what I did.

I followed this recipe, with some alterations.  Instead of sherry, I used dry white wine.  Unfortunately the French haven’t really caught on to canned broths or soups, so I used brouillon cubes for the broth.  And I still haven’t been able to find guyere here, so I’m using shredded emmental, which is similar to Swiss cheese(it’s also the cheese you’ll see used in crepes and quiche).

Caramelizing the onions!

Almost finished!

Cooking!

Croutons in the oven

Finished!  Soo good.

It may have started as peasant food, but they sure knew what they were doing.

This entry was posted in: Paris, Wanderlusting

by

Anne is a writer based in New York City. She is still waiting for someone to give her a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils.

3 Comments

  1. Clarice Elder says

    It’s scrumptious just looking at the pictures! I do love your blog! And you!

Leave a comment